Teacher Appreciation Award Program

Teacher Appreciation Award Recipients
Posted on 01/08/2018

Teacher in an elementary classroomRio Rancho Public Schools and the law firm of Sanchez & Pinon are excited to recognize the many talented teachers chosen as award recipients for the 2017-18 Teacher Appreciation Program!

Hundreds of dedicated, creative teachers were nominated by parents, students, and colleagues.  Winners names are posted once the recipients receive their awards.  This year's recipients are:    

  • Shining Stars Preschool: Mary Cunningham
  • Cielo Azul Elementary: Ryalin Hughes
  • Colinas del Norte Elementary: to be announced
  • Ernest Stapleton Elementary: Karen Curley
  • Maggie Cordova Elementary: Ben Steiner 
  • Martin Luther King, Jr. Elementary: Katilin Kleist
  • Puesta del Sol Elementary: to be announced
  • Rio Rancho Elementary: Jenny Salgado
  • Vista Grande Elementary: Susie Knox
  • Eagle Ridge Middle School: Shana Speicher
  • Lincoln Middle School: Ashley Gomez
  • Mountain View Middle School: Karin Beech-Pond
  • Rio Rancho Middle School: to be announced
  • Cleveland High School: Azure Dorsey
  • Rio Rancho Cyber Academy: Patty Wormington
  • Rio Rancho High School: to be announced
  • Still in the selection process: Enchanted Hills Elementary School, Sandia Vista Elementary School, Independence High School

The winners for each school are selected by the program sponsors working with a committee of school and district leaders.  Each teacher selected is surprised with a plaque and prize and is invited to attend a special district-wide end-of-year celebration honoring all of the teachers of the month for that year.  

A big THANK YOU to our sponsors of this program—the law firm of Sanchez and Pinon, Rio Rancho's Injury Attorneys.